Ghostwriting – instant gratification or an opportunity to practice??

osito-pl piggy

As some of you might be aware, I spend a lot of my time ghostwriting – creating work that will (sadly) go on to be credited to someone else even as I count the dollars I earned for writing it.

Gerbera bills

Ghostwriting brings in the cash; it is a short-term gain and can be quite lucrative.  However, it can be, if the writer becomes attached to a set of characters or a story idea, emotionally draining.  For each story created, the carefully-crafted characters (each of whom the writer has spent several weeks rattling around their heads) are sucked into the infinite vastness of the Internet, never to appear in sequels or author interviews.

They cannot even be traced – not by Googling, anyway.  On several occasions, my curiosity has led me to try, but no trail remains; no trace can be found.

It’s a bitter-sweet experience and probably best suited to a writer who can shrug off these characters like a coating of autumn leaves and move onto the next project.

I am not one of those writers.  Each story leaves its trace in my mind and I wonder, like a foster mother whose temporary charges have flown the nest, what became of them out in the big, wide world.

What a softy I am.

All this makes my experience with Steam eReads feel like a comforting blanket.  What I expected to be just another ghostwriting project blossomed into a full publishing experience.  I know what happened to Amber and Lucy and where they can be found on Amazon.  I’m able to craft additional stories for the BFFs – plus I can take note of any feedback and comments regarding the stories and know that readers are enjoying my work.

This has become my anchor in my rather frenetic sphere of writing; a bit of stability in an otherwise chaotic world.

Thank you Steam eReads for the opportunity to become a published author.  I will continue to ghostwrite for now, but only to pay the bills and perhaps improve my writing style.  I have found a new joy in seeing my name on the cover of a book.

lipstick kiss mini

Annie

One thought on “Ghostwriting – instant gratification or an opportunity to practice??

You're gorgeous - please tell me what you think...X

